The Award Of The ICC Cricketer Of The Year Goes To Steve Smith

Australia captain Steve Smith has grabbed the title of “ICC Cricketer of the Year for 2015” on Wednesday, following an exceptional score of 1,734 runs at an average of 82.57 with seven centuries during the entire voting period.

With his exceptional performance, this 26 –year old right handed batsman has literally secured the Sir Garfield Sobers Trophy in Australia for the three years on the trot, after pace bowler Mitchell Johnson and his predecessor as skipper, Michael Clarke, won in 2014 and 2013.

Over the past few tournaments, Steve Smith has shown an extraordinary feat, scoring about four centuries and 1,249 runs in 25 one-day internationals from Sept. 18, 2014 to Sept. 13, 2015, thus accumulating the winning runs for Australia to triumph in the fifth World Cup.

“I’m obviously completely surprised by it, very humbled,” said Smith, who was also part of the team during the voting period. “You don’t think about these accolades, you just want to go out there and do the best you can for the team and try and win as many games as possible.

“My favourite moment would have to be winning the World Cup, playing against New Zealand at a packed house at the MCG. It was an amazing feeling to be able to hit those winning runs.”
Along with the Australian captain, the noted South Africa batsman AB de Villiers was also declared as the best player in the one-day game. It’s been the second week on the row when de Villiers us getting this award.

De Villiers, South Africa’s captain in the ODI format, won the first award in 2010.

The 31-year-old’s splendid batting feats not only brighten up the World Cup, but also his unbeaten 162 against West Indies in Sydney was pretty impressive. He accumulated 1,265 runs in total at an average of nearly 80 an innings during this period of time.
His team mate Faf du Plessis has grabbed the credit for the best Twenty20 performance of 2015 for the special 56-ball innings where he scored 119 against West Indies in January. It is the third highest score of all time in T20 internationals.

The award for the best emerging player is given to Australian paceman Josh Hazlewood, while the Spirit of Cricket Award was bagged by New Zealand captain Brendon McCullum, in order to promote team’s sportsmanship as he led them to the final of the World Cup.
McCullum has already announced that he is being retiring from the international cricket after the two-test series against Australia in New Zealand in February.

Along with the noted personalities, Australian captain Meg Lanning was also declared the women’s One Day International Cricketer of the Year, while her West Indies counterpart Stefanie Taylor won the women’s Twenty20 award.

Khurram Khan from the cricket team of United Arab Emirates was awarded Associate and Affiliate Cricketer of the Year, and England’s Richard Kettleborough was given the title of the best umpire for a third year in a row.


Share your thoughts here

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s